Bright Family Kitchen DIY

A young mom to three kids (including a baby) managed to spend her days renovating a house.  All by herself.  She is comfortable using power tools, and gets the job done!  These pictures show the amazing before and after she has managed to achieve.

To see all of the photos, click through the slide show below.
How To Reno A Kitchen By Yourself (from Alauna – whose blog you can check out here).

I used my air miles and got about $400 in Rona money, I shopped clearance, made all my artwork and did all the renovation work myself

I found and purchased everything I could on kijiji…Seriously, I bought the yellow table for $25 with 4 chairs. I was able to sell the chairs for the same price so the table was free. I used some spare primer and paint I had in the basement. The new chairs from kijij were $10 a chair! 

I made the faux roman shade from some leftover fabric I had from a previous project. I would love to get some pretty fabric that is colourful but that will have to wait until I find the perfect one/

I bought both the dishwasher and stove on clearance for killer prices. I mean seriously low…I still haven’t found a fridge for a good enough clearance yet so it will have to wait.

I painted the toaster yellow so it could be a nice bright accent in my kitchen and it worked like a charm. I made most of the artwork in the kitchen. We got the sweet VW sign for free. We bought the Dr. Pepper sign on Vancouver Island a couple of summers ago so it was just hanging out in the basement.

I got the wood counter tops at ikea. They were on clearance as they are no longer carrying this exact type. I finished them in minwax stain and 5 coats of waterlox topcoat. 

I used my Rona money for the breadboard, trim, track lights and some other projects around the house.

Bought 3 gallons of paint and used it all from Sherwin Williams at their 40% off sale. This is the best way to buy paint because it is cheaper than buying at the big box stores.

Sources:

Chandalier: Lowes Clearnace $25
Wood Countertops: Ikea clearance $120
Kitchen Sink: Costco
Faucet: $99 from PlumbingOverstock
Roman Shade: DIY from scrap fabric
Table: $25 for table (which ended up being free) and $40 for chairs
Dining Chairs: $10 each on Kijiji
Hoodfan: Kijiji $40


