Green Homes in Houston – Row on 25th

As a designer, I feel like it is important to understand and incorporate the power behind green building methods. When you are potentially selecting the materials that will be used in a massive, large scale building project you have the power and influence to save a lot of natural resources.

I try to include recycled and reusable products as much as I can. I also have a nerd crush on any solar or passive solar heated and cooled homes.

Imagine me freaking out excited when I learned about this simple re-invention of the American Row house. A development in Texas was planned out to include large front yards that embrace the natural landscape as well as embracing a modern feel to a classic shape of home.

Great green ideas this house incorporates:

reused gym floors from nearby schools
countertops and stairs made from a tree trading program
solar panels
reclaimed wood for the fencing
reflective metal roofing
tankless water heaters

See more at http://shadehousedev.com/

signature

Find Me On:
