How To Decorate a Childs Room For Less Than $500 (including furniture)

Children’s rooms are probably the most fun to decorate, but where I want to spend the least amount of money.  You want it to be cute, but invest in only the pieces that will stand the test of time.  A crib is an item I think you only use temporarily, so should be inexpensive.  
I recently walked through a home and saw the most adorable nursery.  It reminded me of a neutral version of a room I designed a while back for a baby girls new room.

Cute Kids Room

I love the simple ikea crib as well as the fact that the wood is a different finish to the dresser (also from ikea).

Ikea crib in a modern nursery
Gender Neutral Nursery
This room is a perfect example of putting together a great childs room on a tight budget.  Literally the entire room could be duplicated for under $500 dollars.  What an huge impact on a home, with a tiny impact on your wallet!  My kind of room design, for sure.  I think the only surprise would be purchasing the wooden letters, which could also be duplicated using vinyl.
You could duplicate this room, and I have broken down the main items as follows:
Paint and mdf Board: $100
Curtains: Brown panels $80 for the Pair
Crib: Sniglar Crib from Ikea, $80
Dresser: Malm Dresser from Ikea, $100
Floating Shelves (2): Lack Shelves from Ikea, $40 for both
Letters: $95 (can vary depending on size, thickness, and font) from Craftcuts
Grand Total : $495

You can see this nursery in person at the Mckee Homes Ravenswood Community Showhome in Airdrie, Alberta.

signature

Find Me On:
