Creating the Feeling of Home

My first blog conference, my first day.  I am waiting in the hotel lobby to go to the Marilyn Dennis show.  I meet two outgoing people, that I instantly feel a connection to.  Not a creepy one, but just that we understand each other.  Enter Julie.  She is happy and excited, and lives on the same island one of my best friends just moved from.  I feel like its a small small world.  Julie is a fantastic writer and I asked her to share her wisdom with us.


In the spring of 2012 Julie & her family hit rock bottom. They finally realized, after years of dreaming, that it was time to leap. 6 months later they have moved to a small island in BC from their home in Vancouver, quit their jobs and re-focused their life on their kids. Julie’s blog “Pursuit of Happyness” follows their journey, shares their stories as they face their fears and redefine success for themselves.

_______________________________


I am sometimes caught in the daze of days . . . like when you are driving home from dropping the kids at school and suddenly realize you are already at the turn off. I work hard at trying to imprint moments in my memory so I can remember the feel of them forever.

Moments like bringing babies home, holiday parties, summer water fights.

Except these memories that I imprinted, well, they were all centered around our last home, the home we moved from this summer.

So here we sit, in a new house, and a loaner house at that . . . a place that isn’t really ours, on an island that we are still getting to know.

So, is it home? Is it a place that we can build lasting memories in? Or, should we stay “unattached” for the sake of the kids? Keep our distance from making memories her, to help save them the sadness of leaving it someday?

But here’s the thing . . . I look back again at those memories we have of our old home, and they aren’t really of the house at all. See, they are all about the people, the laughter and the time.

And that is exactly what we have here . . . time to create memories, or relive old ones in a new environment and the people that matter to me the most surround me every day.

It is really the people that make your house a home, and I know that the crazy dance moves of my 3yr old more than initiate a building into being a home for me.

I haven’t moved much, but I have moved enough times to know that I can be comfortable anywhere. We bring our lives with us . . . they are not left behind. From our squooshy couches to the artwork we thoughtfully chose, our pieces keep our comfort and our people create the spirit of what a home truly is.

So, whether you are downsizing or upgrading, remember a home should be a place that your people can be themselves . . . a place to dance in the living room (if that is what you are into) and giggle in bed (always good for the soul, and libido) a place to welcome friends in comfort, not necessarily elegance, and a place that allows your creativity to unfold, within the constraints of your budget (cause we all have one)

Make your home you . . . because it is YOU that makes a home.


Find Me On:
