Nowhere But Up: The Story of Justin Bieber’s Mom

Nowhere But Up: The Story of Justin Bieber’s Mom

A Book Review

About The Book:

Most people only know her as Justin Bieber’s mom, but Pattie Mallette has had an incredible journey of her own. Many people have heard of her son’s rags to riches triumph. A few know she was a teen mom who had to overcome a drug and alcohol addiction. Even fewer know the rest of her story. 

Now, for the first time in detail, Pattie shares with the world the story of a girl who felt abandoned and unloved. Of a teenager who made poor choices. Of a young woman who attempted suicide and could hardly bear to believe that God would ever care for her. One who messed up, got pregnant, and got a second chance. Every reader will find themselves somewhere in Pattie’s painful journey of redemption. They will be encouraged by her example that what was once broken can become whole. 

Pattie’s story will inspire readers to believe that even in the darkest of places, there’s always hope. For those who feel unlovable, there’s always love. And for those who believe they’re a lost cause, there’s always room for another chance.

My Thoughts:

I am not one of those teen girls who scream, cry, and faint at the sight of Justin Bieber.  But I can’t deny that he is very talented.   I love his songs, I just worry that I am a bit too old to be swooning over him.  That being said, I totally watched his movie on Netflix last summer.  I was amazed at the natural talent that oozes from that child and continues shine through the adult that (wow!) he now is today.   It was amazing to see the journey that he went through to become who he is today.  That being said, I always wondered about his mom.

This story isn’t really about Justin.  Its about the trials and strengths of a woman who overcame a lot and whose proudest accomplished is raising a great son.  Not a pop star, but a good, hard working son.   She worked hard to provide for their little family and to give Justin as many opportunities that she could.  It was inspiring to read, and it makes me really thing about what qualities I want my sons to have, and how to encourage them to become the men I would like them to be.  

I give this book 3 stars out of 5.  It was good, graphic in places, adult eyes only.

signature

