Baby Name Stealing – Moody Monday

Choosing a unique baby name:

I used to hear moms whine that people stole their baby names. I would hear their stories and reply, that sucks, but inside I am thinking, “well that is a pretty common name. I can think of 15-20 other kids born this year that have it.” I always wanted unique names for my kids. I love hearing uncommon (to some people strange) names and always think, that is so a name I would like to have.

Fast forward to 5+ years. I had a son who I named a very unique slash strange name. I knew it would be a ‘cool’ name and not a stuffy or proper name. Then when he was 3.5 two acquaintances stole my name in the same month! It’s uncommon enough that it bugs me. I gave him that name so he would be the only one. Now I know 2 other people is not that big of a deal, but it still bugs me. They likely will not ever go to the same school, but it still drives me crazy. Mostly because I know they copied me. Yes, mimicry is the sincerest firm of flattery, but really? Whenever I see these people or read their facebook updates it drives me bonkers.

I confided it a friend how much it bugged me and she responded with a lame “well you obviously had it first!”. Yes, so not my concern. I am not wanting to be a trend setter here. I want to be unique or at least set apart in my awesome name selecting skills. My husbands response is that “you don’t own a name, who cares?” This is also from a man named one of the top ten most popular name for dozens of years. I myself have met very few people with my name. Its not weird, its just uncommon.

Second hand names available for free: new, unused (by me):

Boys
True
Eames
Eero (my sadly left behind twin names)
Max
Merit
Merick
Nash
Girls
West
Sailor
Aria
Harper
Maris
Marlow
Marion

Has anyone stole your baby names? Have you stolen someone else’s baby names? What names did you love and not use?

