The Blondes by Emily Schultz – #Bookreview

The Blondes by Emily Schultz is a breakout novel from a young author who is said to be going places.

From the Publisher:

Hazel Hayes is a graduate student living in New York City when she learns that she is pregnant after an ill-advised affair with her married professor. More worrisome than the shock of this discovey is the apocalyptically bad timing: random but deadly attacks, all by women with light hair, are terrifying the city’s inhabitants. As the days pass, it becomes clear that teh attacks are symptoms of a strange contagion that is transforming blondes from all walks of life-whether CEOs, flight attendants, students, television personalities or academics-into rabib killers. Hazel – confused, desperate, almost penniliess and soon visibly pegnant- flees the city and sets out to cross the border into Canada, whee she will find the one women who just might be able to help he in a world gone awry.

My Thoughts:

When I first read the jacket of this book, I was excited to read it and then pass it onto my sister (the only blonde in my family) as a good gag gift for her! But I won’t be doing that, that’s for sure. This book was very disappointing. I was never bored while reading this novel, sure there were times where the story lulled, but that happens in most books. What was so disappointing was the ending. I don’t think I can even really call it an ending… nothing is tied up, there is no resolution, the writing just stops….there is no more words!
I found this book very anticlimatic. It felt like the story was really building up to something big, but then nothing happened. It just fell flat. There needed to be more at the end… not even alot more, just one more chapter to bring it all together. I dont mind a book that leaves some loose ends for your to tie together in your own mind, but this was too much…I was left wanting more, but not in a good way. The story may also have benefitted from a big shock or twist, but I could have forgiven the lack there of more, if the ending has been better.

I give it 2 stars.

Reviewed by Amanda!

 signature
