New Snack Ideas for Back To School @eatwholly @beanitos #CANBTS

When I grew up I never ate guacamole. I told everyone I was allergic. I don’t know exactly how I got bribed in to eating it but I tried it and it wasn’t horrible but it tasted pretty bland.  I figured it wasn’t worth the extra calories. 

Fast forward to 3 years ago when my brother married a girl whose parents are from Mexico. We don’t have many Mexicans in Canada so our food is severely lacking in that department.  My sister in law made this amazing green salsa. It’s like a hybrid between salsa and guacamole. It was honestly the best dip I have ever had. I started eating guacamole but nothing store bought even compared.

When I joined twitter I kept hearing about wholly guacamole. I heard how healthy it was and fresh so figured it would be expensive and hard to find. Then I saw it at my local Walmart.  It’s in the produce section and it’s only $2.49 for one container.  So I bought some.

I am telling you now, it’s amazing. Comparable and just as good as my sister in laws.


As for the chips, I was really curious to try the Beanitos.  They are a healthy snack, low in calories, gluten-free, and sold here in Calgary in a lot of the health food stores.  Main ingredients include black beans, whole grain rice, and sunflower oil.  I got to try the black bean, cheddar cheese, and chipotle bbq.  Of the three flavors, I liked the cheddar cheese the best.  I don’t think I would eat the chips alone, but for a girl who likes chips and salsa or guacamole as much as I do, I feel less guilty about the calories when I have them with the beanitos chips.  They are the best option for chips and dip.

Look for Wholly products and Beanitos at your local store.  I promise you won’t be dissapointed.

signature

