The Kill Order (Maze Runner Prequel) – Book Review

The Kill Order
by James Dashner

From the Publisher:

Before WICKED was formed, before the Glade was built, before Thomas entered the Maze, sun flares hit the earth and destroyed the world mankind took for granted.

Mark and Trina were there when it happened, and they survived. But surviving the sun flares was easy compared to what happened next.

Now a disease of rage and lunacy races across the eastern United States, and there’s something suspicious about its origin. Worse yet, it’s mutating, and all evidence suggest that it will bring humanity to its knees.

Mark and Trina are convinced there’s a way to save those left from descending into madness. And they’re determined to find it- if they can stay alive. Because in this new devastated world, every life has a price. And to some, you’re worth more dead then alive.

My Thoughts:

I wanted so badly to love this book. This is the prequel to James Dashner’s Maze Runner series, which I LOVED. I could not but down that series. I was counting down the days to The Kill Orders release, hoping that this book would answer some questions that the other three left to your imagination. I was wrong. This installment from James Dashner was very weak. It’s almost like it went too far back (at least for my liking) It went back to before Thomas and his friends were even in the picture. I was really hoping it would focus more on the formation of WICKED and Thomas’ and Teresa’s involvement in the planning of the Maze and other trials. But it went even further back to the first sun flares. For me that was too far… it was almost like it was another story all together. It didnt really mesh with the other three books in the series.

I also found the story very repetitive… people get sick, go crazy and attack others, repeat process for 327 pages. Just when I thought it would lead into the beginnings of The Maze Runner the book ends and never makes that connection.

All and all I was very dissappointed… but still read the rest of the Maze Runner series by James Dashner. They are wonderful, but you can definately skip the Prequel.

I give it 2 stars.

Reviewed by Amanda

If you liked this book, you would like Insurgent, The Hunger Games, and Matched.

signature
