Book Review – The Deposit Slip – a Legal Thriller by Todd M Johnson


About The Book:

When Jared Neaton grew tired of the shady ethics of his big law firm and left to go out on his own, he never expected the wheels to fly off so quickly. One big case collapsing on him has pushed him to the brink and it’s all he can do to scrape by. He can’t risk another bad loss. 

Erin Larson is running out of options. In the wake of her father’s death, she found a slim piece of paper–a deposit slip–with an unbelievable amount on it. Ten million dollars. Only the bank claims it has no record of the deposit and stonewalls her attempts to find out more. This lawsuit, her last chance, has brought only intimidation and threats. Now she needs to convince Jared to take a risk, to help her because the money is real. And both need to watch their backs as digging deeper unleashes something far more dangerous than just threats.

My Thoughts:

This is the best legal thriller I have read in years.  I love reading this type of book, but I find a lot of them start out well and just don’t hold the suspense.  Not the case with this book.  Again, like Project Moses, this book strongly reminds me of a John Grisham book (which I think is the highest compliment I could give it).

The dilemma in this story was very real.  Sometimes when I watch TV shows or read books about corporations being corrupt and people doing dishonest things in business, I start to think that the whole world is corrupt.  This stresses me out and I have to have a break from that type of show / book for a while (ex. 24, Damages, Jericho, Alias…).  This book was the perfect balance of natural curiousity, suspense, and cheering for the underdog.

This book has been everywhere with me, because I just couldn’t put it down.  I highly recommend it to anyone who loves a legal thriller.  I can’t wait to see what this author (Todd M. Johnson) comes out with next.  He is on my watch list now.

signature

Thank you Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications for providing me with this book.

