A Smashing Day Out–Calgary Restaurant Review

I keep hearing all about this Smashburger opening up.  I was very curious to try it so I jumped all over the chance to meet up with some other bloggers to attend their bloggers event  Even if it was a trek across the city to get to their new Royal Oak location.

029

Jett was all over the shake samples.  I tried the Strawberry and Oreo and they were both awesome. 

                     034031

I saw this saddle and had to throw the babies into it.  The whole event had a western, Calgary Stampede theme to it and these guys were dressed and ready to roll with it!
                       037038
I ordered the Avocado Club (chicken).  I love anything that has avocado.  I got my chicken grilled, but next time I might try it crispy.  Jett ordered the kids hot dog, which was yummy and way more than he could eat.  My only issue was that the baskets made of wire, while looking very cool, leave nowhere to place a pile of ketchup for a 3 year old to dip his fries.
                       039040
YUMM
                          045047
                          048049
Also in attendence were a few of Calgary’s food bloggers for the Stampede Burger Battle.   Julie Van Rosendaal (Dinner with Julie), Dan Clapson (Dan’s Good Side), Gwendolyn Richards (Patent & the Pantry), Gabriel Hall (Le Voyage Gourmand) and Pierre Lamielle (Kitchen Scraps) all competed to create something unique.
This was really exciting for the parents, but the children were more entertained by the face painting and pinata.
                          046050
                           054056
Jett refused to get his face painted and I was so frustrated, so I showed him, NO BIG DEAL the baby will do it!  Then I did, and he still refused.  Butt head.

061

When he got all of his candy into the bag, he kept saying “Trick or Treat!”.  It did kind of feel like halloween!
If you want to try out the best burgers in town, Smashburger has 2 Calgary locations (with more promised to come soon, so us southerners don’t have to trek it out there).

Royal Oak Centre
#319 – 8888 Country HIlls Blvd NW

North East:

2770 32nd Avenue NE
