Is Coconut Oil All Its Cracked Up To Be?

So it seems that the buzz word I keep hearing these days is Coconut Oil.  I keep hearing about it – what can’t it do?  I decided to try it.  It seemed in my mind that only the all organic, granola, hippie type people were the only ones using it, so I asked my friends on facebook.  I was actually shocked at how many people use it and for so many different uses.
You can use coconut oil in so many ways:
  • eat it plain – aids in multiple health uses
  • add as a supplement to smoothies
  • bake with it – used to replace butter or crisco
  • as a deep conditioner for your hair
  • as a oil for your hair (replace your moroccan oil or biosilk)
  • use as a lotion / massage oil
  • use on skin irritations – blisters, rashes, excema, burns
  • treat baby’s cradle cap
  • helps prevent stretch marks (hello, where were you 9 months ago?)
  • helps fad stretch marks (I am using this every night in hopes!)
  • mix with baking soda for a natural goo-gone
  • use to dilute essential oils
  • use to pop popcorn

The jar arrived and I was picturing an oil, liquid based.  Coconut oil is a solid at room temperature and melts at 76 degrees farenheit, so you just need to warm it up if you want to use it as a liquid. I had no doubt in its abilities as a moisturizer, and am dreaming of it erasing my stretch marks (haha there are plenty of those suckers to work on) but I am still using it hoping it will help to fade them.  I will keep you posted.  The part that threw me for a loop was cooking with it.  I found tons of recipes online but I had a hard time finding some that used “normal” ingredients (read: the 5 basic ingredients I keep in my non-foodie kitchen). I don’t own dates, coconut flour, flax seed, etc nor would I ever use them so I decided to experiment.  I made basic chocolate chip cookies but instead of butter or oil I used the Coconut Oil.  When I tasted the dough I could taste SLIGHT coconut-y-ness in it, but in a cookie that is all good.  However, I don’t think I would be able to detect it in the baked cookies unless you told me and I was “looking” tasting? for it.  I am sure there are plenty of super healthy ways you can cook with it, but for an entry level healthy baking ingredient, this is the best one to get. 

Disclaimer: Tropical Traditions provided me with a free sample of this product to review, and I was under no obligation to review it if I so chose.  Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review or sponsor a product giveaway in return for the free product.
signature
