The Milestone Tapes – Book Review and Giveaway

About the book:

Jenna Chamberland never wanted anything more than to be a wife and mother. That is, until she realized that her life was ending after a three-year battle against breast cancer. Now, all she really wants is more time.
With 4,320 hours left to live, Jenna worries for her loved ones and what she knows awaits them on the other side: Gabe will have to make the slip from husband to widower, left alone to raise their seven-year-old daughter; Mia will be forced to cope with life without her mother by her side. In a moment of reflection, Jenna decides to record a set of audio cassettes β€” The Milestone Tapes – leaving her voice behind as a legacy for her daughter.
Nine years later, Mia is a precocious sixteen-year-old and her life is changing all around, all she wants is her mother. Through the tapes, Jenna’s voice returns to teach Mia the magic of life, her words showing her daughter how to spread her wings and embrace the coming challenges with humor, grace and hope.
THE MILESTONE TAPES is the journey of love between a parent and child, and of the bonds that holds them when life no longer can.
My Thoughts:

First off, I admit, I judge a book by the cover a lot of times.  This cover had me at hello.  There is something in that girl’s eyes that just makes me want to hear her story.  I loved the story.  I love that we get to know the mother before she passes away and we get to know the lives of her family afterwords.  It doesn’t start or end with death, its just part of the entire journey.  I cried, but it was a good cry!  I think the advise that Jenna leaves Mia is what we would all want to hear from our Mom’s or loved ones at critical times in our lives.  

There are a few F-Bombs in this book, so beware if that offends you.  My only issue was there were a few spelling / grammar errors.  I am not sure if I read a final draft since it was an advanced reading, and I often find errors in published books, but this had quite a few.

I hope you enjoy.  The author Ashley Mackler-Paternostro, is giving away an amazing prize pack including a KINDLE!!! WAHOO!  So enter to win below.  Also, feel free to check out The Tour Page to read interviews and other reviews.

signature

