What I Read This Week–Book Report


The Milestone Tapes  by Ashley Mackler-Paternostro
To be reviewed next week, in the meantime, feel free to check out the giveaway for a kindle and gift basket!  It was sad but good.  I want to elaborate more but I will save it for then.

Dear Daughter: The Best of the Dear Leta Letters by Heather Armstrong of Dooce.com
If you haven’t read dooce dot com you are surely living under a rock.  Heather is the funniest writer I have ever read.  She has a talent of taking the most mundane moments of motherhood and making you laugh till you pee your pants.  Each month from 8 weeks old to 5 years she writes a letter to her daughter marking major milestones from walking, first words, throwing food across the room, a parents weekend away.  Her letters have a way of helping you laugh through the pain (in my case as my 6 month old twins are still not sleeping through the nights).  Each moment is made to be treasured whether it be a sweet happy moment or the frustrating yet loveable moments in the middle of the night.
The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan. 
A large boat sinks mid ocean in a titanic-esque catastrophe.  There are lifeboats that weren’t built to scale so they are over filled.  The people in the boats are faced with the horrible choice to help save the swimmers to their own detriment or try to save their own lives.  The boats are so overloaded water pours in and it cannot be moved towards a rescue point.  After days of little to no food or water, the group of people who base most of life on society and class are starting to debate why and how people got into the boat and who should jump out to give the others a chance.  Their memories and all based on half truth stories laden in prejudice that nobody knows what is true anymore.    This book had an interesting premise but I had a hard time getting through it.  The plot moved very slowly and I had a hard time relating to the main character.  I think I will try to re read this one when I can enjoy the minute details of the description.

