Book Review – Crossed by Ally Condie

About The Book:


Rules Are Different Outside The Society

Chasing down an uncertain future, Cassia makes her way to the Outer Provinces in pursuit of Ky–taken by the Society to his sure death–only to find that he has escaped into the majestic, but treacherous, canyons. On this wild frontier are glimmers of a different life and the enthralling promise of a rebellion. But even as Cassia sacrifices every thing to reunite with Ky, ingenious surprises from Xander may change the game once again.
Narrated from both Cassia’s and Ky’s point of view, this hotly anticipated sequel to Matched will take them both to the edge of Society, where nothing is as expected and crosses and double crosses make their path more twisted than ever.


My Thoughts:


I have never been so disappointed in a sequel.  Matched was such a good book that I was looking forward to reading this more than any other book.  Maybe that is why I feel much more disappointed?    Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t horrible by any means, and I am still looking forward to reading the next book.  Crossed was just frustrating.

In terms of writing, I feel like Crossed was much less detailed than Matched.  Told in the perspective of both Ky and Cassia, there were several times I had to go back a few pages to see who it was I was reading.  The characters were too similar in their thought process.  I am also confused by every characters “secrets” and the multiple love triangles going on, but I will leave that for later to not spoil it for those who haven’t read it.



Like any second book in a trilogy, I felt this one was just a means to an end.  I found it very hard to continue reading while there were just enough interesting parts to keep me motivated to read the third one.  I felt the same way about the Twilight series and the hunger games series.  Its almost as if the authors all continue the story and ramble on just to keep the readers excited for the third book that actually tells the story.


2.5 Stars

signature

